Gourmet Malaysia

If you’re looking for a different taste that isn’t your ordinary Asian take-out…

let me introduce to you my family’s new favourite Scarborough restaurant – Gourmet Malaysia.

Coming from the Philippines, I realized that not only do we share similarities in language with the Malay culture such as balik (return), Sinta/cinta (love), langit (sky/heaven), and so much more but Filipinos share similar taste that can be found in Malaysian cuisine and all of this can be because of the history they once shared.

When I first tried the food it brought me back to my indiginous roots. It had that familiar hint of the asian tropical taste.

For an appetizer, I would recommend the gado-gado. It is very similar to something we call kare-kare. It is a vegetable medley with a peanut buttery sauce.

After some more food, let’s not forget desserts!

With our friend Yummys (owner).

To celebrate my birthday he brought out a large plate of sliced fruits on the house!

Thank you to everyone at Gourmet Malaysia for this wonderful evening.

 I could definitely say that the food here is sarap (tagalog)/sedap (malay)!

___________________________________

Cuisine: Malaysian, Singaporean & Indonesian

Where: 4466 Sheppard Ave E., Unit 101 Scarborough, ON M1S 1V2

3 Responses to Gourmet Malaysia

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi, I’m creating a website for a non-proft organisation based in Canada, that promotes multiculturalism .. I was just looking at pictures of culture and saw your lovely picture online. I was wondering if you would permit it be used on the website? I will leave a link back to you if that’s alright. I’ll also send you the website link when it’s all done so you’ll see how your photo was used. Thank you in anticipation.

    Julie

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oops, I didn’t say which pic .. it is the one of food in this link – http://ellianmarie.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/collage16.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

